Provider reviews
African Bank Funeral Cover
By FuneralZA editorial team · 11 min read · Updated 30 September 2026

- Claims line
- 0860 000 979
- New policies line
- 0860 333 004
- Underwriter
- Underwritten by Guardrisk Life Limited (Reg. 1999/013922/06, FSP76, licensed life insurer)
- Cover
- Up to R100 000 for the main member and spouse; up to R50 000 for others
- Premium
- Not published, use African Bank's funeral calculator
- Waiting period
- 6 months natural death, accidental death covered once the first premium is paid
- Age limits
- Main member 18 to under 75, parents up to 85, extended family up to 75
- Claim deadline
- Report within 6 months of the death
- Payout time
- Within 2 business days of approval once documents are complete
African Bank funeral cover is the African Bank Family Funeral Plan. It is underwritten by Guardrisk Life Limited, and African Bank sells it as an intermediary. Cover goes up to R100 000 for the main member and spouse, and you can also cover children, parents and extended family. Natural death has a 6 month waiting period.
African Bank does not publish a premium. You use its funeral calculator to get a figure. This page explains who you can cover, what to send when you claim and what to do if a claim is declined. We are independent and do not sell cover. Much of the detail below comes from the February 2025 policy wording, and African Bank has published a newer version, so confirm the terms with African Bank before you sign.
What the African Bank Family Funeral Plan is
The plan pays a cash benefit when an insured person dies. Guardrisk Life Limited is the insurer. African Bank sells the plan and earns commission as the intermediary.
The product page says cover goes up to R100 000 for the main member and spouse, and up to R50 000 for children, parents, in-laws or extended family. You can apply online or ask for a call back. African Bank also has separate group employee and foreign national funeral plans, which this page does not cover.
What to know about African Bank in 2026
- The plan is underwritten by Guardrisk Life Limited; African Bank is the intermediary. (africanbank.co.za (archived copy))
- Cover goes up to R100 000 for the main member and spouse, and parents up to 85 and extended family up to 75 can be covered. (africanbank.co.za (archived copy))
- Natural death has a 6-month waiting period from inception; accidental death has none if the first premium is paid. (africanbank.co.za (archived copy))
- Suicide in the first 12 months is excluded. (africanbank.co.za (archived copy))
- Claims should be reported within 6 months of the death and are paid within 2 business days of approval once documents are complete; if rejected, representations can be made within 90 days. (africanbank.co.za (archived copy))
- Claim documents can be uploaded on the African Bank website, e-mailed to the funeral claims address, or handed in at a branch. (africanbank.co.za (archived copy))
- The policy lapses after 3 consecutive unpaid premiums and can be reinstated in writing within 2 months of lapsing. (africanbank.co.za (archived copy))
African Bank funeral plans and prices
Plans as African Bank describes them on its own website on 30 September 2026. Premiums depend on your age, the cover amount and who you add, so the published figures are examples, not quotes.
| Plan | Cover | Entry age | Waiting period | Published premium |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Funeral cover as advertised on the product page | Cover up to R100 000, for the Main member and Spouse. Cover up to R50 000 for children. Cover up to R50 000 for parents, or in-laws, or extended family | Not stated | Not stated | No fixed published premium. The page has a funeral calculator (cover amount and family members) that returns an estimated total premium. |
Extra benefits African Bank lists:
- Funeral cover as advertised on the product page: Call Me Back and online Apply Now; separate group employee and foreign national funeral plans exist.
Sources: africanbank.co.za (archived copy).
African Bank contact numbers and how to claim
Checked on 30 September 2026 against African Bank's official website (some details from an archived copy of it, because the live site could not be read from our checks). Numbers change, so confirm on the linked page before you call. African Bank will never ask you to pay a claim fee or send money to a new bank account; if a caller does, hang up and phone the official number.
| What you need | How to reach African Bank |
|---|---|
| Funeral cover service (customer services, new applications) | 0860 000 975 |
| Funeral cover service email | [email protected] |
| Funeral claims | 0860 000 979 |
| Funeral claims email | [email protected] |
| Customer service centre (general) | 0861 111 011 |
| Document upload WhatsApp | 060 012 3716 |
| Direct sales (shown on the funeral page when a call-me-back cannot continue) | 0860 333 004 |
| Ethics and fraud hotline | 0800 633 633 |
| Complaints (personal banking) | 0861 111 011 |
| Claims online | How to claim on africanbank.co.za |
| Apply or get a quote | africanbank.co.za |
| Call me back | Request a call back |
Sources: africanbank.co.za (archived copy), africanbank.co.za (archived copy).
Who you can cover, and the limits
You can cover the main member, a spouse or partner, children, parents or parents-in-law and extended family. The limits depend on age. Children can be covered to age 21, or to 25 if they are full-time students. Parents can be covered up to age 85 and extended family up to age 75.
The cover for a younger child or relative can be lower than the cover for an older one. African Bank's product page and its policy wording do not describe the child limits in exactly the same way, so ask for the amount for each person on your policy schedule before you pay. Premiums depend on the cover amount, the ages and the people you add. The funeral calculator on the product page gives an estimate.
Waiting periods and lapsing
Natural death has a 6 month waiting period from the start of the policy. Accidental death has none, as long as the first premium is paid. Suicide in the first 12 months is excluded.
If the policy lapses after three consecutive unpaid premiums, you can ask in writing for it to be reinstated within 2 months. South African rules say a policy that an insurer reinstates after a lapse must be on at least the same terms and may not carry a new waiting period. Our page on funeral cover with no waiting period explains more.
Documents for a claim
African Bank asks for a completed claim form, which you can get at any branch or on its website. You also need:
- a certified copy of the deceased's ID and of the death certificate
- the DHA1663 notice of death form
- for a main member claim, a certified copy of the beneficiary's ID and a copy of the beneficiary's bank statement showing the beneficiary's physical address
- for a claim on another adult on the policy, a certified copy of the main member's ID and a copy of the main member's bank statement
- for a child claim, a certified copy of the main member's ID and the child's birth certificate if under 18, or for a stillbirth
- a police report where the cause of death is under investigation or is related to suicide
The policy wording says African Bank pays within 2 business days of approving a valid claim, once all the documents are in. The insurer may investigate longer. The rules say an insurer must decide a funeral claim within 2 business days of receiving all documents. You can send documents by WhatsApp on 060 012 3716, but that number is for document uploads only, not for sales or claims chat.
If African Bank declines a claim
Ask for the reason in writing. The policy wording says you can make representations within 90 days if a claim is rejected. Common reasons are a claim inside the waiting period, a late report, unpaid premiums or missing documents. An insurer may not refuse a funeral claim because you did not disclose something it never asked about.
If you are still unhappy, complain to the National Financial Ombud on 0860 800 900 or at nfosa.co.za. It is free, and complaints can be dismissed after three years. See our guide to funeral cover scams and your rights.
Who it suits
It suits someone who wants higher cover for a couple and the option to add parents up to age 85, and who is happy to use a calculator and a call back instead of a published price. The trade-offs are the short 6 month reporting window for claims and the need to check the newer policy wording.
Frequently asked questions
What is the African Bank funeral claims contact number?
Call the funeral claims team on 0860 000 979 or email [email protected]. For a new policy call 0860 000 975. Confirm on the official site before you call.
Who underwrites African Bank funeral cover?
Guardrisk Life Limited underwrites it. African Bank sells the plan as an intermediary and earns commission.
How much is African Bank funeral cover?
African Bank does not publish a premium. The price depends on the cover amount, ages and family members, and the calculator on the product page gives an estimate.
How much does African Bank funeral cover pay out?
The product page says up to R100 000 for the main member and spouse, and up to R50 000 for children, parents, in-laws or extended family.
What is the African Bank funeral cover waiting period?
Natural death has a 6 month waiting period. Accidental death has none, as long as the first premium is paid. Suicide in the first 12 months is excluded.
Who can I add to African Bank funeral cover?
You can add a spouse or partner, children, parents or parents-in-law and extended family. Parents can be covered up to age 85 and extended family up to age 75.
How do I claim African Bank funeral cover?
Report the death within 6 months. You can upload documents on the African Bank website, email them to the funeral claims address or hand them in at a branch. Call 0860 000 979 for help.
How long does African Bank take to pay a funeral claim?
The policy wording says within 2 business days of approving a valid claim, once all the required documents are received.




