Costs & how to choose
Top funeral parlours in South Africa: what each chain says about itself
By FuneralZA editorial team · 8 min read · Updated 30 September 2026

- Ranking
- None: no verified source ranks parlours
- Table order
- Alphabetical
- Source of table
- Each chain's own published information, checked 30 September 2026
- Check a parlour's FSP number
- FSCA, 0800 110 443
- Policy complaints
- National Financial Ombud, 0860 800 900
No verified source ranks South African funeral parlours as best or biggest, so we do not. The right parlour depends on your budget, where the burial will be, your faith or culture, and whether you want cover, a service, or both.
What we can do is set out, in one table, what each chain says about itself: where it operates, which plans it publishes and who underwrites them. Then we give you a checklist for comparing any parlour, big or small.
Why there is no best parlour
A parlour that suits a Johannesburg family burying locally may be the wrong choice for a Cape Town family taking a loved one home to the Eastern Cape. Size, price and reputation all count for different things depending on your situation.
Be careful with online lists that rank a top ten. We found no verified source that ranks parlours, so a ranking is usually opinion or advertising. The branch counts below are each chain's own statements, counted in different ways, so they are not a league table.
What each chain says about itself
Listed alphabetically. Every figure is the chain's own statement, not our measurement. Follow the link for each chain's contact numbers and plans.
| Chain | Where it says it operates | Plans it publishes | Underwriter it names |
|---|---|---|---|
| 21st Century Funerals | Six branches, all in KwaZulu-Natal | Five plans, R190 to R405 a month, with a funeral service, hearse and groceries | Sanlam Developing Markets |
| AVBOB | National 24-hour funeral line; no branch count verified | Cashback Funeral Cover, main member and spouse up to R50 000 | AVBOB Mutual Assurance Society, owned by its members |
| Broodie Funeral Parlour | Head office in Soshanguve, Pretoria, and an office in Fourways | Funeral cover, no plan table published | Assupol |
| Chevrah Kadisha | Johannesburg only, for the Jewish community, with three cemeteries | Burial services, no funeral plans published | None published |
| Doves | More than 160 branches in all nine provinces | Cover from R20 000 up to R95 000 for the main member | African Unity Life |
| GS Funeral Parlour | One address, in Vosloorus | Family plans, Presidential and Prestige, among others | Not named on its brochure |
| Icebolethu | Over 200 branches and over 60 Boxer service outlets, listed across seven provinces | Care and Dignity plans, from R125 a month | RMA Life Assurance Company since September 2024 |
| Kings and Queens | Branches in Johannesburg, Pretoria, Polokwane, Cape Town and elsewhere, plus Zimbabwe | Standard, Silver, Gold and Platinum policies | Not named on its site |
| Legae Funeral Home (formerly Sopema) | Offices in Soweto, Lichtenburg and Randburg | Burial plans of R15,500 to R30,500 | Sanlam Developing Markets |
| Martin's Funerals | Franchise network, 165 to 170 outlets by its own pages, in all nine provinces | Single cover of R12 000 to R30 000 by plan and age | African Unity Life |
| MTG Funerals | Limpopo-based, more than 8 branches across Limpopo and Gauteng | Six plans, R10,000 to R50,000 for the principal member, paid as services not cash | Not stated |
| Nyaradzo | Offices in Randburg, Cape Town and Gqeberha | Sahwira International Plan with repatriation to Zimbabwe | Not stated |
| Pyramid Funeral Parlour | Head office in Boksburg North, branches in Gauteng, Limpopo and the North West | Khomakwatsi Plus, a services-based plan | Not stated |
| Rekathusa Funeral Parlour | Head office in Klerksdorp, branches mainly in the North West | Plans from a R5 000 cash payout to R30 000 | SAFRICAN |
| Richter Funerals | Two branches, East London and King William's Town | Policies with no cover amounts published | Sanlam Developing Markets |
| Royal Funerals | No branch count verified | Four plans from R165 a month, paid as funeral benefits | Royal Financial Services |
| Two Mountains | Over 90 locations across five provinces | Five plans with service values of R15,000 to R50,000 | Part of the Old Mutual group since 2023 |
How to read the table
Footprint is each chain's own claim. Martin's gives 165 outlets on one page and 170 on another, and Pyramid gives a different branch count on different pages, so treat counts as approximate and confirm the branch near you.
Plans are not all the same kind of product. Some pay cash. Others provide funeral services and pay no cash, so the plan only works if that parlour conducts the funeral. Read the plan terms for what is included, the waiting period and the cash alternative, if any.
Where the underwriter column says "Not stated", the sources we checked did not name one. Ask the parlour, in writing, which licensed insurer carries the risk.
How to evaluate any parlour
- Cost: get a written, itemised quote and compare like for like.
- Cover: a parlour that sells funeral cover must be a FAIS-authorised financial services provider and must have a licensed insurer carrying the risk. Parlours that offer only funeral services need no financial-sector authorisation. Check the FSP number with the FSCA on 0800 110 443.
- Service: confirm they can collect and bury where you need, including repatriation between provinces.
- Coffin range: see what is included and what is extra.
- Waiting period and exclusions: the rules cap a natural-death waiting period at six months, allow none for accidental death, and do not let a policy exclude suicide for more than 12 months. Get your policy's terms in writing.
- Reputation: ask family, community and your burial society for names they have actually used.
Small local parlours
A trusted local parlour can be more affordable and more personal, and may know your community's customs well. Its reach for long-distance repatriation may be limited, so ask. If it sells cover, apply the same FSP and underwriter checks as for a large chain.
For the fees at a particular cemetery, ask the local municipality's cemetery office. The parlour's quote and the municipality's fee are two separate figures.
Red flags and unlicensed sellers
- Pressure to pay before you have a written quote.
- Funeral cover with no named licensed insurer.
- No clear waiting period or exclusions in writing.
- Vague pricing or extras added on the day.
- Cash only, with no receipt.
The regulators say many unlicensed entities, including funeral parlours, self-underwrite and collect premiums unlawfully. In September 2025 the FSCA acted against four funeral firms that issued policies without licensed underwriters and collected more than R67 million in premiums. All four signed undertakings to comply.
If a claim is declined
Ask the insurer to explain the decision in writing. If you are not satisfied, complain to the National Financial Ombud on 0860 800 900. It is free to use, and you can complain by phone, in writing or in person, in any official language. The Ombud received 2 496 funeral complaints in 2025, and declined claims were the main driver.
ASISA, the industry body, says the main reasons for declining funeral claims are waiting periods, fraud and unpaid premiums. Keep proof that your premiums were paid. See funeral parlour or funeral cover: what is the difference if you are unsure which product you hold.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best funeral parlour in South Africa?
No verified source ranks them, so we do not name one. The right parlour depends on your budget, where the burial will be, your faith or culture, and whether you want cover, a service, or both. Use written quotes and the checklist above.
What are the biggest funeral parlours in South Africa?
We cannot rank them. Icebolethu says it has over 200 branches and over 60 Boxer service outlets, Doves says more than 160 branches, and Martin's says 165 to 170 outlets. These are each chain's own counts, made in different ways, so they are not comparable.
Can I trust a top 10 funeral parlours list online?
Be cautious. We found no verified source that ranks parlours, so lists are usually opinion or advertising. Use written quotes, the underwriter and the FSP check to decide.
How do I check that funeral cover is legitimate?
Ask who the licensed insurer is and check the seller's FSP number with the FSCA on 0800 110 443. Operating as an insurer without a licence is an offence.
Are the big funeral groups better than local parlours?
Not automatically. A large group may reach more provinces, while a local parlour may suit a local burial better. Compare written quotes and what each includes.
What are red flags when choosing a parlour?
Pressure to pay before a written quote, cover with no named licensed insurer, no waiting period in writing, vague pricing with extras on the day, and cash only with no receipt.
Who do I complain to about a funeral policy?
The National Financial Ombud, on 0860 800 900. It is free to use. Keep your policy, the claim documents and any correspondence.




