FuneralZA

Funeral chains

Rekathusa Funeral Parlour: plans, branches and what to ask before you sign

By FuneralZA editorial team · 12 min read · Updated 30 September 2026

Soft white flowers arrangement - Rekathusa Funeral Parlour: plans, branches and what to ask before you sign
Rekathusa Funeral Parlour plans, contact numbers and branches in Klerksdorp and the North West, with what to ask before you sign. Checked 30 September 2026.
24-hour line
082 554 2840
Head office line
018 500 0279
Type
Funeral parlour with funeral and cash plans
Based in
Alabama, Klerksdorp, North West
Plans said to be underwritten by
SAFRICAN
Financial services provider
Juristic representative of Three6ixty Financial Services, FSP 51025 (Rekathusa's own statement)
Waiting period
Stated only for the RFP Plus Plan: 6 months for natural death, 12 months for suicide

Rekathusa Funeral Parlour is a funeral group based in Klerksdorp, North West. It conducts funerals and sells funeral and cash plans, which it says are underwritten by SAFRICAN.

This page sets out what Rekathusa publishes on its own website, what it leaves out, and what to ask before you sign or claim. The plan and contact tables below were checked on 30 September 2026. We are independent and do not sell cover.

Who Rekathusa Funeral Parlour is

Rekathusa Funeral Parlour is a North West funeral group with its head office in Alabama, Klerksdorp. Its branches are mostly in North West towns, with Bloemhof and Viljoenskroon close to the Free State border. The full list is in the contact table further down this page.

The funeral services it lists are collecting the deceased, storing the body, preparing and handling the body, and helping with registration of the death. It also provides 100 funeral programmes and a hearse. Its cemetery services include a family and grave tent, covered chairs, a lowering device, carpets and decoration.

Extras are available at additional cost, such as family cars, flowers, colour programmes, dove release, mobile toilets and fridges, videographers and live streams, and PA systems. Members can pay their premium by debit order or with a Rekathusa membership card at listed retailers.

Other pages that use the Rekathusa name exist for towns such as Kuruman, which are not on the Klerksdorp group's branch list. We could not confirm whether they belong to the same business. If you are in the Northern Cape, ask who you are dealing with before you pay anything.

What to know about Rekathusa Funeral Parlour in 2026

  • Rekathusa says its funeral plans are underwritten by SAFRICAN and that it is a juristic representative of Three6ixty Financial Services (FSP 51025). (rekathusa-kld.co.za)
  • It publishes a 24-hour emergency helpline, 082 554 2840, and a head office at 13 Kantoor and Mimosa Street, Alabama, Klerksdorp. (rekathusa-kld.co.za)
  • Branches listed are in Klerksdorp Central, Alabama, Wolmaransstad, Delareyville, Potchefstroom, Lichtenburg, Ventersdorp, Ottosdal, Tigane (Hartbeesfontein), Viljoenskroon, Bloemhof and Mafikeng, i.e. mainly North West with Bloemhof and Viljoenskroon near the Free State border. The home page separately claims 'Locations - 9 Throughout South Africa'. (rekathusa-kld.co.za)
  • Funeral plans run from a R95 a month Low Budget Plan (R5 000 cash payout, ages 18 to 59) to Main Plans A and B at R250 a month (R20 000 or R12 000 cash payout with grocery, vegetable and tombstone vouchers). (rekathusa-kld.co.za)
  • On the RFP Plus Plan, natural deaths in the first 6 months are not paid, and suicide has a 12 month waiting period. A missed premium gets a one-month grace period and the policy lapses if still unpaid after two months. (rekathusa-kld.co.za)
  • The cash alternative on Budget and Main plans carries a claim handling fee. (rekathusa-kld.co.za)

Rekathusa Funeral Parlour funeral plans and prices

Plans as Rekathusa Funeral Parlour describes them on its own website on 30 September 2026. Premiums depend on your age, the cover amount and who you add, so the published figures are examples, not quotes.

PlanCoverEntry ageWaiting periodPublished premium
RFP Low Budget PlanR5 000 cash payout, flatlid casket, standard mortuary service, transport, 100 programs (B+W). Children: stillborn and 0 - 5 years R1 250 cash payment, coffin and transport; 6 - 13 years R2 500 cash payment, coffin and transport; 14 - 21 (25 if full-time registered student) 100% of benefits18 to 59 years old; 60 to 84 years oldNot statedSingle or Family: R95.00 (18 to 59 years old); R145.00 (60 to 84 years old)
Budget PlanR10 000 cash payout, casket, standard mortuary service, transport, 100 programs (B+W). Alternative: take R12 000 cash (claim handling fee will be applied). Children: stillborn and 0 - 5 years R2 500; 6 - 13 years R5 000; 14 - 21 (25) 100% of benefits18 to 59 years old; 60 to 84 years oldNot statedSingle or Family: R155.00 (18 to 59 years old); R190.00 (60 to 84 years old)
RFP Main Plan AR20 000 cash payout, casket, standard mortuary service, transport, 100 programs (B+W). Alternative: take R25 000 cash (claim handling fee will be applied). Children: stillborn and 0 - 5 years R5 000; 6 - 13 years R10 000; 14 - 21 (25) 100% of benefits18 to 59 years old; 60 to 84 years oldNot statedSingle or Family: R250.00 (18 to 59 years old); R280.00 (60 to 84 years old)
RFP Main Plan BR12 000 cash payout, casket, standard mortuary service, transport, 100 programs (B+W). Alternative: take R30 000 cash (claim handling fee will be applied). Children: stillborn and 0 - 5 years R5 000; 6 - 13 years R10 000; 14 - 21 (25) 100% of benefits18 to 59 years old; 60 to 84 years oldNot statedSingle or Family: R250.00 (18 to 59 years old); R280.00 (60 to 84 years old)
Cash Plans A, B and C (top-up to a funeral plan)Cash Plan A R10 000 cash payout; Cash Plan B R20 000; Cash Plan C R30 000 (children: 14 - 21 years same amount, 6 - 13 years 80%, 0 - 5 years and stillborn 40% of the main amount, as printed)18 to 59 years old; 60 to 84 years oldNot statedCash Plan A R90.00 (18 to 59) / R180.00 (60 to 84); Cash Plan B R160.00 / R280.00; Cash Plan C R280.00 / R360.00 a month

Extra benefits Rekathusa Funeral Parlour lists:

  • RFP Main Plan A: Tombstone voucher to the value of R1 500; grocery voucher to the value of R1 000; vegetable voucher to the value of R1 000.
  • RFP Main Plan B: Tombstone voucher R2 000; grocery voucher R1 500; vegetable voucher R1 500; sheep voucher R3 000; cow voucher R10 000.

Sources: rekathusa-kld.co.za.

How the Rekathusa plans work

Rekathusa sells two kinds of product. The funeral plans (Low Budget, Budget and Main Plans A and B) pay a cash amount and also supply a casket, standard mortuary service, transport and 100 programmes. The Cash Plans A, B and C are add-ons that top up a funeral plan with more cash. The amounts, entry ages and children's benefits are in the plans table above, so they are not repeated here.

Things the site does say:

  • The Budget and both Main Plans let you take a larger cash amount instead of the casket and services, but a claim handling fee is applied if you do.
  • Main Plans A and B add tombstone, grocery and vegetable vouchers. Main Plan B also lists sheep and cow vouchers. The site does not say how the vouchers are redeemed, so ask.
  • On the RFP Plus Plan, natural deaths in the first 6 months are not paid unless the death is from unnatural causes. Suicide has a 12 month waiting period. Extended family on that plan must be financially dependent on the policy holder.
  • If a premium is late, there is a one-month grace period. If it is still unpaid after two months, the policy lapses.

What the site does not say: the waiting periods for the Low Budget, Budget and Main plans are not stated on the pages we read. Ask for them in writing. The rules cap the waiting period for natural death at six months, and no waiting period may apply to death by accident.

Rekathusa Funeral Parlour contact numbers and branches

Checked on 30 September 2026 against Rekathusa Funeral Parlour's official website. Numbers change, so confirm on the linked page before you call. Rekathusa Funeral Parlour will never ask you to pay a claim fee or send money to a new bank account; if a caller does, hang up and phone the official number.

What you needHow to reach Rekathusa Funeral Parlour
24hr Emergency Helpline082 554 2840
Head office phone (Klerksdorp)018 500 0279 (printed as 018 5000 279 in the footer)
Email[email protected]
WhatsAppwa.me/0825542840 (same number as the emergency line, 082 554 2840)
Apply or get a quoterekathusa-kld.co.za

Head office C/O 13 Kantoor & Mimosa Street, Alabama, Klerksdorp; branch pages for Klerksdorp Central, Alabama, Wolmaransstad, Delareyville, Potchefstroom, Lichtenburg, Ventersdorp, Ottosdal, Tigane, Viljoenskroon, Bloemhof, Mafikeng. Home page states 'Locations - 9 Throughout South Africa', 'Fleet - 20 Hearse', 'Funeral Directors - 5'. (rekathusa-kld.co.za)

Sources: rekathusa-kld.co.za/contact.

How to claim with Rekathusa

Rekathusa does not publish its claims procedure, the documents it asks for or how long a payout takes. Do not rely on any figure you see elsewhere. When someone dies, phone the 24-hour helpline first and ask what the funeral team needs from you.

Ask these questions at the start:

  • Which documents do you need for a claim on my plan? Insurers commonly ask for the Home Affairs death certificate and the IDs of the deceased and the person claiming, but Rekathusa has not published its list.
  • Is the benefit the casket and services, or cash, and is a claim handling fee taken?
  • How long after I hand in all documents will the claim be decided and paid?

Separately from any plan, a notice of death must be given to Home Affairs within 72 hours by a family member or a representative the family appoints. Our guide to how funeral cover payouts work explains the steps after that.

If a claim is declined or a policy is cancelled, ask for the reason in writing. You can then complain to the National Financial Ombud, which is free to use. Phone 0860 800 900 or use nfosa.co.za/submit-a-complaint/. Trying the insurer first is sensible, but it is not a legal requirement. The Ombud may dismiss a complaint if three or more years have passed since you knew or should have known there was cause to complain.

Check who carries the risk

A parlour that sells funeral cover must itself be an authorised financial services provider, and a licensed insurer must carry the risk. Rekathusa says its plans are underwritten by SAFRICAN and that it is a juristic representative of Three6ixty Financial Services, FSP 51025.

Those are Rekathusa's own statements. We did not check the FSP number against the FSCA register, so please do it yourself before you pay:

Read our page on SAFRICAN funeral cover as well, and ask Rekathusa for the full policy terms before you sign.

What to check before you pay

  • Whether a branch can collect and bury in the town you need.
  • Which plan you are being quoted, its entry age and its waiting period, in writing.
  • Whether the benefit is cash, a casket and services, or both, and whether a claim handling fee applies.
  • Who the insurer is, and that the FSP number checks out on the FSCA register.
  • The full policy terms and the premium for everyone you add.

Never pay a claim fee or send money to a new bank account because a caller asked you to. Phone the official number and confirm first.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Rekathusa Funeral Parlour contact number?

Rekathusa lists a 24-hour emergency helpline, 082 554 2840, and a head office line in Klerksdorp, 018 500 0279. It also lists [email protected]. These were checked on 30 September 2026, but confirm on its official site before you rely on them.

Where does Rekathusa Funeral Parlour operate?

Its head office is in Alabama, Klerksdorp, and it lists branches in Klerksdorp Central, Alabama, Wolmaransstad, Delareyville, Potchefstroom, Lichtenburg, Ventersdorp, Ottosdal, Tigane, Viljoenskroon, Bloemhof and Mafikeng. Confirm your area with the company.

Does Rekathusa offer funeral cover?

Yes. It sells funeral plans and cash plans, with premiums from R95 a month for the Low Budget Plan, and says they are underwritten by SAFRICAN. Ask for the full policy terms before you sign.

What is the Rekathusa waiting period?

Rekathusa states a waiting period only for the RFP Plus Plan: 6 months for natural death and 12 months for suicide. It does not state waiting periods for its other plans on the pages we read, so ask for them in writing.

What age can you join Rekathusa funeral plans?

The Low Budget, Budget and Main plans and the Cash Plans list entry ages of 18 to 59 and 60 to 84. The RFP Plus Plan lists a maximum entry age of 64 for the main member and dependants. Confirm your own case with Rekathusa.

Can I take cash instead of the casket and services?

On the Budget Plan and Main Plans A and B, Rekathusa lets you take a larger cash amount instead, but a claim handling fee is applied. The amounts are in the plans table on this page.

How do I claim on a Rekathusa plan?

Rekathusa does not publish its claims steps, documents or payout time. Phone the 24-hour helpline and ask which documents it needs and when the claim will be decided. Get the answers in writing.

Is Rekathusa Funeral Parlour a registered financial services provider?

It says it is a juristic representative of Three6ixty Financial Services, FSP 51025. We did not check that on the FSCA register, so search for the FSP number there yourself before you pay.